Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

United States Department of Transportation United States Department of Transportation

High Priority Grant (HP) - Eligible Recipients and Award Selection

Eligible HP recipients include any State agency, local government (including county, city, township, special district, and Federally-recognized Native American tribal governments), institutions of higher education (public, private, and State-controlled), non-profit organizations with or without having a 501(c)(3) status with the Internal Revenue Service, for-profit entities (including small businesses), and other persons.  Other persons is defined as an entity not included above and may not be an individual, foreign entity, hospital, public/Indian housing authority, or Federal institution.

HP program applications must contain, as applicable, the components consistent with 49 CFR § 350.213. If a local (county, city, municipality, Federally-recognized Tribal) jurisdiction applies for an HP grant, the application must address the items in 49 CFR § 350.329 in order to qualify for funds.

All HP applications undergo a series of reviews prior to award selection as required in 2 CFR §§ 200.204 and 205.  These reviews include:

  1. Technical review;
  2. Suitability review;
  3. Past performance review; and
  4. Budget/cost analysis.

See MCSAP Comprehensive Policy (MCP) for additional information on the FMCSA discretionary application review and approval process.

Last updated: Wednesday, July 25, 2018